Drinking naturally flavoured water…

I know. I know. I know you’ve heard all of this before but I can’t emphasise the importance of drinking water for your overall wellbeing!

We intake water in a number of ways with the two most common being through foods (especially fruits and veggies) and… well of course, from a tap. Yet many of us aren’t keeping hydrated because we’re constantly losing body fluids from sweating, going to the toilet, and breathing. I personally try to drink between 2-3 litres a day because I exercise a lot. But you may need to drink more or less depending on your body size, weight, and how physically active you’re being.

I’ve found that drinking a sufficient amount of water per day:

  • prevents me from over-eating (I’ll admit I’m guilty of scoffing my face sometimes)
  • repairs and reenergise my muscles after exercise
  • improves my digestion
  • keeps my skin clearer!

To develop good water drinking habits I always carry a water bottle with me. This helps me be consistent and drink small sips throughout the day.

To spice it up a bit I also like to add things to my water to flavour it. Some examples include:

  • lemon juice and/or slices
  • lime juice and/or slices
  • thinly sliced apple and cinnamon
  • orange juice and/or slices
  • basil and strawberries
  • berries (raspberries, blueberries, blackberries etc.)
  • mint

 

photo

Photo sourced from this AMAZING website: http://nurturefood.co.za/?p=81

Drink water. It’s cool.

x

Leave a Reply

